Your Shopping Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Read About AKC Dog Shows

AKC Dog Shows - Facts

1.     Type of Competition:

There are three types of AKC dog shows: ImageAll-Breed Shows, which are competitions for over 150 breeds and varieties of AKC-recognized dogs; Specialty Shows, which are restricted to a single breed or varieties of that breed; and Group Shows, which are limited to dogs belonging to a single group of the seven AKC groups.

2.     Location:

AKC dog shows are held in small and large cities all over the United States. They are held outdoors, in small gymnasiums and large arenas. Two of the most prestigious dog shows in the United States are the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show, held each year at Madison Square Garden in New York City, and the AKC/Eukaneuba National Championship, held in a different city each year.

3.     History:

The American Kennel Club was founded in Philadelphia on September 17, 1884 by a group of twelve sportsmen who each belonged to a dog club that had held dog shows in the past. The first officially-sanctioned AKC dog show was held in 1885.

4.     Sanctioned:

AKC dog shows are sanctioned by the American Kennel Club.

5.     Entrance Procedure:

To be eligible to compete in an AKC dog show, a dog must be individually registered with the American Kennel Club. The dog must be 6 months of age or older and be a breed for which classes are offered at a show. The dog must also meet any eligibility requirements in the written standard for its breed. Dogs which have been spayed or neutered are not eligible to compete, because the purpose of dog shows is to evaluate breeding stock.

6.     Classes:

There are six classes in an AKC dog show: puppy, Twelve to Eighteen Months, Novice, Bred by Exhibitor, American-Bred, and Open. ImageMale and female winners of each of these classes compete again to see which is the best of the winning dogs.

7.     Judging:

There are seven groups that are awarded in an All-Breed show (Sporting, Hound, Working, Terrier, Toy, Non-Sporting, and Herding). The best male (Winners Dog) and best female (Winners Bitch) compete with the champions for the Best of Breed award.

8.     Awards:

There are usually three awards given at the Best of Breed competition: Best of Breed (best in breed category); Best of Winners (better of the Winners Dog and Winners Bitch); and Best of Opposite Sex (best dog that is the opposite sex to the Best of Breed winner).