Read About Dog

Categories in Pet Library
Featured Article

AKC Dog Breeds

AKC Dog Breeds

Organized in the late 1800s, the American Kennel Club or AKC, has been a widely recognized group that sets the standards for numerous dog breeds. With over 150 breeds, AKC Dog Breeds include some popular names, as well as some that are rare and unfamiliar to many people. In order for a dog to be registered through the AKC, both of its parents must be AKC registered as well. AKC registration only ensures that the dog is from one recognized breed; it is not a guarantee of health, superior bloodlines, nor does it state anything about the breeder.

AKC Dog Breeds are divided into seven groups, one class, and the Foundation Stock Service. The seven groups include:

Sporting Group Hound Group Working Group Terrier Group Toy Group Non-Sporting Group Herding Group

The one class is labeled as the Miscellaneous Class, which includes 6 breeds that are not yet fully recognized as an AKC Dog Breed. After a waiting period where the breeding practices are reviewed and other breed standards are confirmed, the breed will be moved over to one of the recognized AKC Dog Breed groups. The Foundation Stock Service Program is for breeders of rare breeds that are working towards recognition in the United States. These breeds are unable to participate in any AKC events until at least 150 dogs are registered.

The AKC also hosts several events, including a dog show yearly where one breed is named the overall champion. These breeds are truly beautiful animals, and their owners and breeders have invested a great deal of time and discipline to display their dogs. The AKC offers breeders the highest standards to go by in their breeding practices in order to preserve the integrity and authenticity of each specific dog breed. For more specific information on the 157 recognized breeds, the AKC hosts a website that provides a wealth of information on AKC Dog breed specifications and can also put you in touch with registered breeders.